Last Night’s Dinner: Stuffed tomatoes and quinoa

I must admit that stuffed vegetables rarely inspire me. Ella makes a fine, chilli-enlivened stuffed pepper (with tomatoes and mozzarella), but too often stuffed veg means simply a bit of veg with some other veg piled on top. In my book that’s not good enough.

However, for some reason, I fancied stuffing some veg the other day. I wanted a tomatoey dish, sweet and tangy, but for other flavours and textures to be involved too. Something hearty and warming perhaps.

Some Puy lentils seemed like a good idea, cooked until tender, with a little olive oil and red wine vinegar, and added to the halved and hollowed out tomatoes. These were then baked in the oven on a low temperature – around 120C ā€“ so that the tomatoes almost dry out and intensify in flavour rather than cooking to a mush. Timings are approximate here: 1 hour? At the end of the process we added some crumbled feta cheese on top and served on a bed of quinoa. And very tasty it was too.

4 Comments to “Last Night’s Dinner: Stuffed tomatoes and quinoa”

  1. I love stuffed veggies and this one looks stunning! I would try this with bell peppers. Your dish is a genius! When you have the time, do drop by my blog. I’d love to hear from you!

  2. Yummy!!! Looks like you have some great flavours there too! šŸ™‚

  3. I had quinoa for the first time this weekend. Good stuff!

Leave a Reply

